When spite of cormorant devouring Time

130313

Latin Name: Phalocrocorax carbo novaehollandiae
Common Name: cormorant, black shag, black cormorant, great cormorant
Size: 90cm
Abundance: Abundant
Location: Everywhere, coastal, harbours, rivers, estuaries

I was fishing for snapper and I caught one. It was too small in size for the quota and so I carefully removed the hook with pliers and threw the undersized snapper back into the sea. You know what happened next. I wasn’t expecting it. The cormorant that was lurking nearby quickly grabbed the snapper into its mouth and opened wider and wider and swallowed it whole in one gulp. I watched in amazement. It was not a tiny fish yet not big enough for me to keep but all the same it was about three times or so the width of the neck of the bird. He swallowed it so easily and quickly. He looked so pleased with himself. I was impressed and in awe.  I just just kept repeating, “he ate my fish! Did you see that!” and then speechless for a few moments as time passed me by.

Thanks for stopping by, share your thoughts...

