Orca pod sighting


Orca pod sighting

Where:  Waitemata Harbour, Auckland, New Zealand,
When:  Monday 19th November 2012

Nowhere in this photo is the pod of orca we saw, this is not far from where we saw them. I didn’t get my camera out in time, as I was slightly unnerved.They were fast and busy rounding up possibly a stingray or shark  for lunch. I think I saw a female. The fin was rounded sloping back. At first when  I saw a fin in the distance I thought, another whale, then we saw another fin closer to kayakers and thought, wait a minute, maybe its dolphins. We stopped the boat and sat and waited for them to surface again. They did and we saw the distinctive white colour on the belly and the fin. Excitement mixed with a touch o f fear. They carried on their merry way in the direction we were not going.

Thanks for stopping by, share your thoughts...

