Fluttering shearwaters: Pakaha

Common Name:  Fluttering Shearwater
Maori Name:  Pakaha
Latin Name:  Puffinus gavia
Size 33cm

Sighted on the SW side of Waiheke Island.

I usually have my copy of A Photographic Guide to Birds of New Zealand on the boat but I never seem to have enough time to get to open it in time, as I’m busy either taking a photograph, holding onto the wheel or a rod or having lunch. I managed to take a clear photograph today. I do appreciate the efforts of nature photographers to take photographs of birds, fish and animals in their habitats. The boat was moving naturally and just trying to get the bird in the frame and click at the right time was a task and a half. There was the glare of the sun reflecting off the surface of the sea as well. Today was supposed to be calm. I did see a cormorant too but I didn’t have my camera handy for evidence. Another day. I thought if birds are there near the boat then it’s a lucky thing.

Thanks for stopping by, share your thoughts...

